With its gold ornaments the room transports you back to the time when Zlata ladjica provided shelter for craftsmen, including goldsmiths. This bright and comfortable room with a stunning view of the river boasts a spacious modern bathroom.
Beautiful details, original furniture pieces, and a replica of tri-colour parquet floors create a typical 19th-century bourgeois interior.
A peek into history …
From a goldsmith’s workshop to a boutique hotel
The first records of goldsmiths in Ljubljana date back to 1301. From around 1660 on they had their own guild, which controlled the practice of the craft and imposed restrictions on the number of goldsmith workshops in the city. With the arrival of the Illyrian Provinces (1809–1813) all guilds were abolished, but the craft of goldsmithing survived.
Zlata ladjica occupies a spot that has been particularly lively throughout the history of the city. Every day, many trade routes crossed here, which is why until 1877 the square under Zlata ladjica was called the Artisans’ Square (Obrtniški trg). Throughout its history, Zlata ladjica offered shelter to many a tradesman and craftsman. The goldsmith Puh had its workshop on its ground floor until the inn was renovated about 50 years ago.