The Golden Boat (Zlata ladjica) suite is spacious to a fault, comfortable, and with a very special atmosphere. Its preserved original features merit heritage status, so we approached its renovation with extreme care. It boasts a lush bathroom with a bathtub and can be connected with the Goldsmiths’ room next door.
The suite offers some inspiring insight into the history of the building. The original 17th century ceiling, elaborate 18th century wall paintings, and the 19th century parquet floor and interior door replicas will transport you back to times of old.
A peek into history …
Zlata ladjica’s journey through time
Zlata ladjica occupies a spot that has always been firmly embedded in the history of Ljubljana and the life of its people. It was therefore little surprise when during the last renovation of the building archaeologists excavated the remains of the oldest smithy in Ljubljana, dating back to the 11th century, in the basement.
The building standing here today was built before 1600, and the first known record of its existence dates back to the 17th century. It was one of four buildings in a row, but its three neighbours were badly damaged in the great earthquake of 1895, and their ruins were removed at the beginning of the 20th century.
Zlata ladjica thus became the only freestanding building in the old city core.